Virginia is a large state, with a total area of 42,774 square miles, including 3,180. square miles of water.

It dominates the Mid-Atlantic, starting at the Atlantic Ocean and Chesapeake Bay in the east and stretching across bucolic farmlands and rolling hills to the Blue Ridge Mountains and beyond to Appalachia. In addition to the nation’s capital, five states border the Old Dominion: Kentucky, Maryland, North Carolina, Tennessee, and West Virginia.

Within the boundaries are several distinct regions filled with hamlets, towns, cities, and counties. To honor the tastes and traditions of these regions, we’ve divided the state up into five coverage areas: